Kotaku have posted a shed-load of details for what they are claiming to be, the first real details for Modern Warfare 3. The details cover both single and multiplayer modes as well as the popular special ops – so let’s get to it. According to sources, Modern Warfare 3 picks up “moments” after MW2 and sees the U.S. trying to survive a Russian surprise attack.

Players will take turns throughout the game as a Russian Federal Protective Services agent, SAS Operative, tank gunners, and there’s also the return of the ever popular – AC-130 gunner. There will be a return of “key” characters too from previous installments it seems. The single player game will feature “about 15 missions” which kicks off with the invasion of Manhattan by a Russian forces and will send players around the world.

Multiplayer will feature 15 levels and feature the return of “Survival mode”. Survival mode will then contain two individual modes: Mission and Survival. Sources claim that the list below is everything the game has to offer multiplayer-wise:

Multiplayer Maps:

  • Alpha
  • Alps
  • Bootleg
  • Bravo
  • Brooklyn
  • Carbon
  • Coast
  • Dome
  • Exchange
  • Hardhat
  • Interchange
  • Lambeth
  • Meteora
  • Mogadishu
  • Paris
  • Plaza 2
  • Radar
  • Seatown
  • Underground
  • Village

Spec Ops Modes:

– Survival

  • Carbon
  • Dome
  • Radar
  • Seatown
  • Village

– Mission

  • Civilian Rescue
  • Flood the Market
  • Invisible Threat
  • Little Bro’s
  • Out of Africa
  • No Fly Zone
  • Wing Man

Head on over to Kotaku to grab the rest – there’s loads to read and see. It does contains spoilers.